Pinup Art of Edward

July 17, 2008

A good read…

Filed under: Uncategorized — edwardreed @ 1:25 am

 

Vargas at work

Vargas at work

Spencer Museum of Art, University of Kansas

The Spencer Museum of Art holds many originals created by Alberto Vargas for Esquire magazine and is located at the University of Kansas. I have always wanted to make a trek there and see them. A few years ago Stephen Goddard wrote a thesis on Vargas and his work and I am one of many that he contacted for information about Alberto’s technique. I can only surmise that he was familiar with my Vargas derived technique for doing pinups as my work was published as how-to’s in a few art magazines. I credited my technique as being based on Alberto’s from which I gleaned from his work including information from his own writing on the subject in one of his books. Anyway, I am no expert on Vargas or his technique per se’ but I had a couple of clippings on Vargas and one was an ad for Wold Airbrush which is an airbrush he endorsed as his airbrush of choice when he first moved to the U.S. He later used Paasche airbrushes but that rare and obscure advertisment proved insightful to Stephen Goddards essay. The essay can be found Here 

And in the credits I am mentioned in good company including a member of his family! 

-Reid Austin, Michael Broadfoot, Barbara Coleman, Astrid Vargas Conte’, Lou Harbor (Hrabko), Jim Hartley, Bill Leisk, Vallie Pettersen, Edward Reed, Mark Roeyer, Elizabeth Schultz, and Dominque Taddei openly shared their expertise and insights. 

I am also mentioned in the notes: 10 and 22. I thank airbrush artist Edward Reed for sharing this information with me. 

 

so in a way I feel something of a connection to my would be mentor. I feel he is my teacher although posthumously. To be included amongst those contributing to an essay about Vargas where roughly 150 originals are held safely today is nothing short of the most incredible honor I think I could have. So I am already literally a footnote in pinup history!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

