Pinup Art of Edward

March 14, 2008

The Rocketeer

Filed under: Uncategorized — edwardreed @ 12:14 am

In memoriam: Noted illustrator Dave Stevens, creator of “The Rocketeer” and an influential Bettie Page revivalist, died last Monday following a courageous battle with leukemia. He was 52. One of the biggest influences on me was the rocketeer comics and his rendition of a brunette that I had no idea who she was but I loved her and his stylized rendition of who I would later learn about as Bettie Page. I was actually affected by Dave’s work when I was 10 years old. He filled in for about a month doing the Star Wars newspaper daily comic strip. The art originally sucked by I loved Starwars and didn’t miss a single newspaper… when the art changed and the characters actually looked like the actors I knew a new artist was doing it but I had no idea who. I still have those newspaper clippings! it wasn’t until the Rocketeer comic came out years later that something dawned on me that the style looked familiar… sure enough I dug up the old yellowed and dried out cuttings and matched the style to the comic artist. Dave Stevens’ style I would recognize anywhere! I bought the indy Rocketeer comics and his idea for the rocketeer and having Bettie as his girl before anyone one of our time knew who she was I thought was genius! When the movie came out I was first in line. I met Dave briefly at Glamour Con and got my picture taken with him. He was really quiet and seemed a bit shy. I wanted to talk with him more but felt out of my league. And now an icon in the revitalization of pinup art is gone. I have poster book called Just Teasing the Pinup art by Dave Stevens. I always treasured it. too young to go. dammit! Edward betty20.jpg

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

